Ninth Assembly: It’s Ekweremadu vs Omo-Agege 

120 total views, no views today

Immediate past Deputy President of the Eighth Senate, Ike Ekweremadu is set to slug it out with controversial lawmaker, Ovie Omo-Agege for the position of Deputy Senate President in the Ninth Assembly.
This followed their nominations for the position.
While the motion for the nomination of  Ekweremadu was moved by Ahmad Babba Kaita (APC, Katsina) and seconded by Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger), that of Omo-Agege was moved by Chukwuka Utazi (PDP, Enugu) and seconded by Rose Okoh (PDP, Cross River).
Ekweremadu is the longest serving Deputy Senate President, having served for 12 years, while Omo-Agege, a second timer, allegedly led thugs to invade the Senate and snatched the mace on April 18, 2019.
Both lawmakers accepted the nominations.
In a surprised move, none of the other APC senators-elect, who had earlier indicated interest for the position, was nominated.
As of the time filing this report, lawmakers-elect have commenced voting for the position of Deputy Senate President.

Source link